Learning about Aztec mythology

Aztec mythology is super interesting and this video is so fun to watch:

At the core of Aztec belief is the narrative of creation and destruction through five suns or five worlds, each associated with an era and a specific deity. These eras are cyclic, with each world being created and then destroyed by a catastrophe.

The Five Suns

  1. The First Sun, “Nahui-Ocelotl” (Four Jaguar): Inhabited by giants and ended by jaguars that devoured all the creatures.
  2. The Second Sun, “Nahui-Ehécatl” (Four Wind): Humans were turned into monkeys, and hurricanes destroyed the world.
  3. The Third Sun, “Nahui-Quiahuitl” (Four Rain): Fiery rain consumed all, transforming the survivors into turkeys, dogs, and butterflies.
  4. The Fourth Sun, “Nahui-Atl” (Four Water): A great flood enveloped the earth, turning people into fish.
  5. The Fifth Sun, “Nahui-Ollin” (Four Movement): The era the Aztecs believed they were living in, predicted to end in earthquakes.

The central deity in the Aztec pantheon is Huitzilopochtli, the god of the sun and war, who is said to battle the forces of darkness each night to ensure the sun rises each day. Quetzalcoatl, the feathered serpent, is another important deity associated with the creation of mankind and often considered a force of intellect and culture.

Humanity, in the current era, is believed to have been created by the gods from maize (corn), which is a central element in Mesoamerican life and mythology. The myth narrates that the gods journeyed to Mictlan, the underworld, to retrieve the bones of the previous generations and sprinkled their own blood upon these bones to give life to the current humanity.